You’ve lost that lovin feelin, oooooooh that lovin feeling.. and now it’s gone gone gone…

So I haven’t posted in a while, a couple months, or a really really really long while; perhaps more than a couple of months. Just a little update, I ran a half marathon today. My result was reflective of my lack of training, which means it wasn’t very good. I don’t mean to be a “negative nancy” but the tough days, weeks, and sometimes months are also a part of running. To be quite honest I don’t really know what happened. This year started out to be so promising with a couple PB’s at Fridgee and Around the Bay. Then it just started sloping, and my motivation waned. So lay it on me, how do I get my mojo back?

I suppose thats why I haven’t posted either, I don’t feel post worthy 😥 In true ADHD fashion (I have mentioned I am ADHD in previous blog postings) it is either all or nothing. So my training tanked, my blogging tanked, and even my housework tanked. I have only been running 3 days a week, and because my bestest dude has been running shorter km’s, I have too. My long run mileage went from 30km to 14km in 3 months. I wish that I could say its my physical endurance that has been the culprit, but alas no it is actually my mental capacity. My brain seems to shut down around 13km. For the first time EVER I walked during my half marathon today. I just couldn’t make it up a big hill on the second loop. Its hard not to feel dejected, and want to sit in my sh**, but I have another half marathon in 4 weeks. Yup 4 weeks. Apparently I felt that running 3 half marathons in the span of 4 months was a good idea. So I have a choice, I can either continue on with my current regimen and feel miserable for 21km, or I can brush myself off and use this as a wake up call.

Of course I choose to brush myself off, as if there was any question. I just gotta figure out how to get my mojo back. Quite simply the answer is “just shut up and do it”. Its gonna hurt and suck for a while, but I truly believe that if anyone can do it, I can. Just need a couple more hilly cottage runs 😉

see ya on the road!

T

Posted on August 10, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

